New running shoes!

I bought new runners! I have started having niggling pains in my feet and decided it was time to buy new shoes. I have run over 800 km in the old ones so probably not a bad idea. The well-trodden shoes are Nike Structure 15s. I never bought them for running as they were my first shoes after the bilateral bunion operation last year. These were the widest and most comfortable shoes I could bare to put on, once being allowed, after clomping around on the surgical shoes for weeks.

ImageImage

My feet after the operation and the surgical shoes which were a balancing act 

Image

I bought the Nikes in size 40 when I am normally about 38/39. I wanted them big and roomy as my feet would get very swollen for months after the operation. And they were very comfortable. When I started running I never really thought about what kind of runners I should wear and they did the trick. I have to say I never felt any pain that I would have attributed to the shoes (until recently). The only issue that I have had is due to the large size of the shoe. My toes hit the mesh where it wasn’t reinforced and eventually I had to patch up a hole on the right one.

So yesterday I headed to SweatShop in Central London. They do a personalised fitting where they determine the structure of your arches and analyse your gait. I had to run on the treadmill in various shoes to find the right one. To my surprise my arches are normal/low (I expected completely flat feet) and I am only slightly overpronating. The recommendation was that I should go for a structure shoe. I tried on Asics, Brooks and Mizunos – in the end viewing the videos it was clear that the Asics gave me the most neutral gait.

ImageAsics GT-2000

There is something magical, and yet scary, about new runners. You can’t help but feel a mixture of excitement and hesitation. The old ones served me so well, but rather than go out and buy a new pair of the same, I am doing something completely different – am I mad? They do look much better than the clunky, black Nikes. The reason the old ones are that colour, is because I had to wear them as an everyday shoe. I even wore them to my husband’s 40th Birthday Disco (yes… a disco…). I was hoping that with them being black they wouldn’t be so obvious to be running shoes.

Here are some comparison pictures between the old and the new.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Tomorrow I am due my long run of the week. I am hoping for a 20km one. Maybe I should break the new shoes in slowly but that would just be too sensible. I am too excited about these!

SweatShop operate a policy whereby I can return these shoes, even after wearing them, should I have any problems with them. They will then help me find a pair that works better, should it come to that. Between that and the fact I got my shoes with 50% discount (thanks to my private health insurance) I am one happy bunny. (I know I sound like I am endorsing them but I am not being compensated for any positive comments. The customer service was good and knowledgeable)

9 thoughts on “New running shoes!

  1. Great post about Shoes. So glad to see you made it back to running after your surgery. I’m Tanya from Bluefin Software (http://bluefinapps.com) and I was wondering if you would be interested in Beta testing our RunHelper Plus app? We are looking for runners who share our passion of running and writing. If you’re interested please hop on over to our blog: http://j.mp/VTvQjd

    Thanks for your time, Tanya

    1. Hi Tanya, thanks for your comment and for inviting me to take part in the Beta testing. I am afraid it’s probably not the best timing as I will have to take some time off running shortly due to an operation. I am also a creature of habit and run with Runmeter that I find brilliant. Good luck with the app!

  2. I too have a bunion. How was the operation and more important the recovery? I think the time out to recover would be too much for me.

    1. Hi there!

      I am lucky in that I had my operation privately through my husband’s health insurance. Not sure how big a difference this made to anything though. My recovery was surprisingly quick – I think even the surgeon was amazed. Things take longer when you have both feet done at the same time as you don’t have one “good” foot to take the pressure off. So if you would only have one done it should be even easier. I “walked” a bit the day after the operation already but not going to lie – that hurt. Within a week I was making short trips outside and was pretty painless, just for tired easily. I was allowed to start wearing the runners at about 6 weeks after the op and I started gentle running 8 weeks after. The op was in June and by the end of August I was doing 12km runs. I would wholeheartedly recommend the operation. It is a few weeks out of your life but will make a huge difference. And like I said, when you only have one foot done the recovery should be even quicker.

  3. i used to run in asics, and i see you, more importantly, subscribe to the same school of shoe breaking that i do…. longest run of the week, in the new shoes, consequences be damned. 🙂 i love new shoes!! happy trails.

    1. Ha! Like I have said before – you and I seem to be very much alike. 🙂 I did a 20km run on Saturday in the new shoes – I thought I would know for sure if there were any issues after that!

  4. I always ran in Asics in my previous life…switched to Brooks when I started running in this life…but have gone back to my tried and true Asics. They have just the right amount of control (over-pronate issues). Good luck with your running!

    1. Hello! Thanks for popping by to comment. It’s funny how important shoes become after you get more serious about running, isn’t it? I was so nervous about my first run in the new shoes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

