Emotional

Well, that was quite something. It was the first time ever, that I have watched a marathon and wished I was there. In previous years my thoughts have run along the lines of “are they completely mad?”. I am utterly terrified of the idea of racing though. It is not the thought of the run that puts me off but having to do it cramped on the streets with thousands of others. I do get that it would also spur you on but it just makes me feel a bit claustrophobic – after all I always run by myself. Also, for me doing a long run requires multiple planets aligning fortuitously. The delicate balance of eating, hydrating and going to the toilet has to be just right or things fall apart. Does anyone smell excuses?…

I think I would just be a ball of nerves to the point where my legs would shake too much to run. I was watching the runners approaching the start line at the London Marathon on Sunday and my stomach actually hurt for them. I thought I was going to be sick and I wasn’t even there! But even then, I so longed to be one of the thousands strong mass that took to the streets of London to cover the 42kms that it takes to be able to call yourself a marathoner. It didn’t help my mood that I had to cut my run on Saturday short and skip my Sunday run altogether due to the pain on my right thigh. ¬†The plan is to try and go out on Tuesday but even walking is uncomfortable at the moment so we’ll see how that works out.

Run by run….

Would you not get performance anxiety trying to go to the toilet with a que like this outside? (From BBC Marathon Broadcast)
Would you not get performance anxiety trying to go to the toilet with a que like this outside? (From BBC Marathon Broadcast)

There is a portion of the marathon where the route doubles up on itself and the elite men ran past the amateur runners. It made me emotional seeing the hoard of runners cheering the elite on.
There is a portion of the marathon where the route doubles up on itself and the elite men ran past the amateur runners. It made me emotional seeing the hoard of runners cheering the elite on. (From BBC Marathon broadcast)

 

This says it all (From BBC Marathon broadcast)
This says it all (From BBC Marathon broadcast)