A Blistering Performance

My physiotherapists has given up on me. Well, not entirely – she is still treating me (or I should say “they” as there are two) but the recommendation has gone from “try not to run for now” to “just do short runs”. But do I listen to this advice – do I hell!

In the past six weeks I have done a long run each week that has been longer than 20km. Usually I try to make it to 21km at least with the longest run having been just over 25km. This in addition to some shorter runs over the week. It has become something that reassures me that I’ve still “got it” despite the injury. And yes, I have been doing the long runs even with my gammy hip. It seems that if I take Neurofen a while before the run I can shrug the pain off. The first 20mins or so are not much fun but after that things get better. I do pay the price though in the recovery run the next day – especially as I run these without the pain killers. 30 mins of slow slogging in absolute agony. When on the long runs my head tells me: “You have been doing a long run every week, you are not giving up now. Not today”, on the recovery run it chimes with “You are such an idiot, why did you do that yesterday? Trying to cripple yourself?”.

Still, I am not giving up my long runs. Just can’t.

My physio has me working on the small stabilising muscles in my glutes. It seems that when we previously worked together (to fix the other leg) we did a good job in strengthening the big muscles so whilst I have the power, I am a bit all over the place (technically speaking). I do also think there is something very wrong in the hip – as I run, each step feels like it’s driving the hip into the socket. So I am going to take it easy during the week, try to give the hip some rest whilst I work on the physio and my “Leg Workout”. I will do everything I can to balance things out so that I can allow myself the “luxury” of the distance in the weekends.

photo (21)

It’s probably frustrating to read that (if you are injured you should REST so that you can recover – stop being so stupid!) so maybe I can lighten things up with a small product review:

I have a thing for running socks. They are relatively cheap to buy but can make all the difference whilst running. Usually it’s just about how “wicking” they actually are and if they are too padded for the shoes. Until I bought Nike Anti-blister socks last week and tried them on when I did my 21km run on Saturday. The result:

photo (20)

Sorry, I probably should have warned you. Foot shots at their best are unappetising but this one is in a whole other league. Not only do you get the mother of all blisters but also the scar from my bunion operation. (Bunions, hysterectomy – you’d think I was 74, not 34!)

I could feel something hurting in the foot as I was running but I thought that maybe the sock was a bit bunched up. I got home and did my physio, squats and planking and nearly fell on my arse when I finally took off my shoes and socks. I have never had a blister on this part of my foot before, and definitely not such a beauty of a blood blister. I can only pin it on the “anti-blister” socks. Ha – thanks but no thanks. And as luck would have it – it’s on the same leg as the bad hip. Whoopedoo! So folks – I would recommend you stay AWAY from these socks. (Not to be confused with the double layer ones Nike does, I haven’t tried those yet)

2 thoughts on “A Blistering Performance

  1. friend to friend…. i’d not take neurofen before you run longer runs. it can royally eff up your kidneys. 😦 especially in warmer weather.

    and that foot looks PAINFUL! ouch. ouch ouch ouch. socks can make or break it. i have a graveyard of shit running socks. i like wigwam socks for now.

    i do hope they can figure out what is causing the pain. do they think it’s an imbalance or an organic problem in your physical “layout”? did they give you any cross training ideas? if i swim i don’t feel like i’m giving up so much in resting, and i can let my muscles take a break. it’s tough resting, i know.

    xxx

    1. Hiya! Yeah, I know the Neurofen pre-run is a bit debatable but my physio gave her blessing, especially as the dose I take is quite small. And it doesn’t really get that warm here. 🙂
      Wigwam socks? I’ll have to add those to my “need to try” list. (I really do love running socks!).
      It seems that my assessment physio thinks it is coming from bad form. She reckons that my core got obliterated during the op and I started running too soon after, relying on my legs. And hence have adopted a less that effective way of running. I was told to stop doing the recovery run after the long run, as this is when I feel most of the pain. Makes sense.

Leave a Reply

