It’s not the running that wrecks me but the good times

What a weekend…

We went away to Woburn/Eversholt for the weekend to attend a wedding on Saturday. We had a great group of our friends there and it ended up being a big night. Luckily my husband and I had done a quick 9km run on Saturday morning so I don’t feel too bad about the fact that I haven’t done anything since then. It’s amazing how tough hangovers are on an ageing body…

My body wasn’t just wrecked by the booze, though, but also by the high heels. I rarely stray out of flats and I was reminded again why that is. Not only were my feet killing me but my lower back is completely out of whack now. I can barely bend and every now and again a jolt of pain takes my breath away. Buggering duck! I know men complain about wearing ties but at least those are not a health hazard.

A cricket pitch outside the wedding venue - quintessentially British
A cricket pitch outside the wedding venue – quintessentially British as was the weather…

I also paid the price of not doing enough research on the location in preparation of the run there. I just looked at a map and jotted what would be a comfortable distance. It was an ok route with some hills, nice houses and lots of cars. However, if we had turned left from the hotel rather than right, we would have been running through the grounds of Woburn Abbey with it’s gorgeous scenery and deer. A lesson learnt.

One of the couples at the wedding are Canadian and they lived in London for a year or so which is when we got to know them. They moved back last year and came over for the wedding/holiday in Europe. My husband and I have lived in London for 6 years (almost 7) and haven’t really done any of the “touristy” things. The Shard, London Eye, London Bridge etc… Still on our “to-do” list. We just haven’t gotten around to it. The Canadian couple has done everything and seen everything. They are also going “up the Shard” which was completed after they returned to Canada. This got me thinking that we really need to make more of an effort to see the city we live in. So it was quite timely when this morning a friend of mine asked if I would like to go with him to Wimbledon! He has tickets to Center Court for Women’s Semi Finals and I am the lucky girl who gets to go with him! Strawberries and cream, champagne, lunch, watching tennis at a legendary venue… It will be amazing.

Now I just have to focus getting myself back to feeling normal again – the interval run I have planned for tomorrow should do that. Or alternatively it might kill me…

Leave a Reply

