“Feel the fear and do it anyway”

Post 22km in 28C
Post 22km in 28C

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. Take a look at the above.

What do you see?

I could easily point out all the things that are less than flattering like the baggy shorts, chunky thighs and the massive rings under my eyes. But you know what – for once that is not what I focus on.

This is me after a 22km run yesterday. 22km is something I can pretty much do whenever I want now but the added challenge on that particular day was the immense heat of the day. It was at least 28C with the sun blazing down from a blue sky. Folks, it was hot and that is NOT something we are used to here. I can run in temperatures below freezing but this is a whole new ballgame. Weather like this just does NOT happen here.

So yes, there are rings under my eyes. They are made worse by the fact that my 500ml of electrolyte water was not enough to hydrate me. Every inch of my skin was covered, drenched even, in sweat or salt from evaporated sweat. My eyes were stinging from the sweat dripping into them. Speaking of eyes – the have look of pure shock. Almost as if I am unsure I really just survived that. It was probably my slowest run ever but nevertheless I RAN. I ran 22km in conditions that left most people unwilling to walk.

My shorts chafed until they settled in place (I just had to drop them further down on my hips to get them long enough for them not to bunch up). I could have used this as an excuse to just come home and cut the run short but I didn’t. If there ever was a run that proved that I run with my mental strength rather than physical, then this was it.

This post is coming across as a bit of a “hey, look at me patting myself on the back for being awesome”. Apologies. The thing is, I may not run races but for me every run is a race – against myself and my limits. Yesterday I got close to those limits but I kept on going and I did it. I don’t have medals or t-shirts for completing these runs but what I do have is another notch on my runners (bedpost doesn’t work here) – I didn’t give up.

“Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far they can go.”

T.S. Eliot

 

(Blog title is a quote by Susan Jeffers)

7 thoughts on ““Feel the fear and do it anyway”

  1. I absolutely loved this post! It’s been just as hot here on the East Coast of the US. I’ve come to realize that I’d rather run in freezing temps than hot and humid ones! Kudos to you for getting your run on!

  2. “I may not run races but for me every run is a race – against myself and my limits.”
    I spend so much time feeling like an awful, slow, lazy runner and lately I have been asking myself why it is I’m so obsessed with something I’m so bad at, but you’ve said it in a nutshell. I feel like I can outdo even my best self every time I’m out on the trail. This pushes me not only when I’m running, but when I’m trying to maneuver a difficult situation at work, or when I’m at home late at night trying to figure out what on earth to write my next post about, or working hard to figure out how to be a better mom and a better human being despite all of the challenges of daily life. Well said!

Leave a Reply

