Me and my monkey

I had forgotten what it was like to run in cold weather. I mean, sure, there were a few days here and there when I needed my long-sleeved (but thin) running top but it wasn’t that cold. Yesterday though, doing my interval session at the Rec, I found myself wondering where I had stashed my running gloves. Just can’t help it, winter is drawing close – I might even have to go back to the long running tights soon and give the capris a well earned break.

Autumnal leaves by Regents Canal
Autumnal leaves by Regents Canal

It is actually lovely running in the fresh autumn air. Everything seems so… crisp. And there is the added bonus of not having to bring water for the shorter runs – I now only bother with it when I do my Saturday 2h+ run.

photo 2 (13)

Running is going ok, I am not breaking any records but when did I ever. My usual weekly routine is one hill session (of about 11-12km), one interval session (total time over 1h though I currently only do 10 fast intervals) and the long run of at least 21km (usually 22-23km). Every now and again I try to fit in a short run which I do without any goals or plan in mind. No specific distance, time or pace. Just run where I want to, for as long as I want to. It feels great to go back to the basics and remind myself what it is about running that I love. Not sure when the great, big, hairy monkey of Ambition started riding on my back when I do the other runs but there he is, pushing me on. On the “easy extra” runs I leave the monkey home sipping on a cup of coffee and enjoy myself. I go out and keep putting one foot in front of the other again and again and again. Not because I have to, but because I want to. And most importantly; because I can.

 

2 thoughts on “Me and my monkey

Leave a Reply

