One step forward, two (limping) steps back

twosteps-1200x650

This season is just so tough. Shorter and colder days, sun never making it that high in the sky, slippery leaves on the pavements and tough decisions about whether to wear running gloves or not.

And I seem to have done my knee in again. There was some pain after the hill runs we did in Ireland but I thought I would be able to work through it. I did my 22km run on Saturday and and felt some discomfort afterwards. On Tuesday the knee was still painful but I thought it would be fine once it warmed up. And it wasn’t too bad for the first 10km but then suddenly, during the last kilometre it just gave up. The pain was so bad but I ran. Like a stupid idiot I ran. Well, if you can call it that. Imagine a pirate with a wooden leg hobbling as fast as he can (which wasn’t at all fast) – that was me.

Needless to say I was in pain afterwards. For days afterwards. I was barely able to walk and the pain killers did nothing at all to help. I have now been resting the leg (read: I haven’t been running) since Tuesday and I am still hobbling. There is a pain under the knee on both sides of the top of the tibia. I suspect it is the patellar tendon. The good news is, that it is a lot better than it was a few days ago so maybe I can be back out there, if not tomorrow, then early next week.

Having had all this spare time on my hands, I watched the documentary “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead“. You seen it? I am a sceptic when it comes to diets and fads but I love the idea of being able to help your body kick-start itself and am seriously considering doing it. Have you done a juice diet? Would you recommend it? I should say, for me it is not about weight loss but about the detox…

4 thoughts on “One step forward, two (limping) steps back

  1. Sorry to hear about your knee, hope it is better very soon. I haven’t done a juice diet or a detox, not sure about there being sufficient calories to keep running with this sort of diet. But the whole thing with clean eating is something I’m really behind πŸ™‚ I’ve been alcohol free for six weeks now for a fund raising challenge and I can’t believe how much better I feel.

    1. Thanks! The rest and foam rolling seem to be helping a bit.
      Six weeks and no booze?! Wowser! I don’t drink much but I do need that one beer on a Friday, just to relax into the weekend. Respect to you girl!! I can believe though that it makes a difference in many ways. Just not brave enough myself. πŸ™‚

  2. Ooh, careful of the knee! I’m toying with the idea of doing a half marathon in a few months, which means I need to add mileage and add it fast. I’m already starting to feel those old knee and ankle injuries kick in and it’s making me think I may need to follow all my running magazine instructions after all if I want to stay injury free this time around…

Leave a Reply

