Cautiously optimistic

I think the title of this blog says it all. There has been progress!

I have tried to be very “good” and hit the gym hard but avoid running as much as possible. Last weekend my husband and I went to Amsterdam to see some friends (we used to live there) and as it was easier to just go for a run I thought this would be a good opportunity to tip my toe back in.

The hardest part about the run was probably getting up at 8am to do it when we only got to bed at 4am. Truth be told I was probably still slightly intoxicated and I blame these:

Kwak beer - gimmicky glass but delicious content
Kwak beer – gimmicky glass but delicious content

A couple of laps around the beautiful Vondelpark amongst the other runners and “fietsers” (cyclists) and the world was looking like a better place again. It was a beautiful morning and despite some niggling in my leg the run felt pretty good.

Due to work I had to skip gym today (Tuesday) so I thought I would do an early run before work, feeling encouraged after the run in Amsterdam. And so I found myself up at 5am this morning (after a weekend of very little sleep I feel like a zombie now) and kitting up. It was cold and foggy but I am always overheated during these early runs – I am convinced my body has an extreme reaction to being yanked up at stupid-o-clock and made to pound the pavements.

And after the misery of not having been able to run for a few months I cannot tell you elated I felt. I love (love, love, love) running very early in the morning. I love the lack of traffic and people, seeing the urban foxes and I love how you can see the days extending by the sunrise slowly happening earlier and earlier in the runs (today it only got up after I got back). It is hard to describe the feeling of pure happiness but I have a feeling you probably know what I am talking about.

So I am taking it easy in the sense that I am trying not to build up too quickly back to my normal distances and will keep the gym in for a while. I will also see a coach about a running assessment as I can feel I am not quite balanced currently.

But I am back to running and it feels so good!

“All I do is keep on running in my own cozy, homemade void, my own             nostalgic silence. And this is a pretty wonderful thing. No matter what anybody else says.” 

― Haruki MurakamiWhat I Talk About When I Talk About Running

 

6 thoughts on “Cautiously optimistic

  1. Yeah! I’m so excited for you to be back on your running feet! My only advice would be what you’re already planning – take it slowly. I was dogged my injury after injury from the time I had my first overdoing it experience way back when I was a teenager, and for the first time in over twenty years of running (ACK that makes me feel OLD!) I’m now really looking at serious long distance goals, and doing it injury free. I spent the last two years since having my daughter building back up VERY slowly, and now I’m about to run a half-marathon. I’m not particularly smart or disciplined about my training, but I have gotten very good at reminding myself how much it sucks to not be able to run…
    Oh yes, and I love that Murakami book 🙂

    1. Thanks hon! It’s sooo hard taking it easy though! But you are absolutely right, if you want to keep running you have to be sensible about it. When is your half marathon? Will there be a race report??

      1. The race is coming up fast (a lot faster than I’ll be running it!), it’s the last Sunday of February. I’m still not sure about the race report – I suppose that will depend on whether I get embarrassed by my 67 year old dad who agreed to race with me!

Leave a Reply

