Half-Marathon Challenge

No excuses. But my apologies for I have been lazy and not written a post in yonks. Truth be told though, there hasn’t really been any major newsworthy developments.

A few weeks ago I went back to my old “home town” The Hague for three days. I lived there for 6 years in my early 20s and still love and miss it. The weekend was a mix of work and catching up with old friends. And of course running. On Saturday morning I woke up fairly late and very hungover. Very unusual for me as I rarely drink (which is probably why I was so hungover). I had made the novice mistake of drinking on an empty stomach – I only had “a few” beers! Anyway, I felt sick. Like – get me the bucket now, kind of sick. Though by some miracle I managed not to hug the toilet. Stubbornly I got my running kit on and headed out (if you had told me I was going for a run with such a hangover a few years ago I would have laughed in your face – an ugly, hysterical kind of laughter). The strange thing is, as soon as I started running I felt better. So in the hot summer weather I did a 10km run as I was late for a meeting with my boss. As I was running I thought, “wow, so this is how you cure a hangover”. It became clear though that me glee was premature, because as soon as I stopped I felt more sick that ever. Stomach full of beer and NO food left me shakey and pukey. A quick bagel later and I just about got through the meeting.

Sunday morning I managed a 20km, beautiful run (scenery-wise) over the dunes by the sea. Bunnies hopping everywhere, birds, insects… All I could think about was how badly I wanted to move back.

A run from the center of The Hague, past the harbour of Scheveningen to Kijkduin and back
A run from the center of The Hague, past the harbour of Scheveningen to Kijkduin and back

Thank goodness I had been sensible the night before and stayed away from the Bacardi Colas, instead sipping on my low alcohol beer. And maybe just the one tequila shot.

The other, possibly, interesting thing from the past few weeks is the challenge I set for myself last week. I decided, that since I was going to miss my Sunday exercise due a travelling husband (the trip over which I lost my cool some time ago), I was going to have to max it out. So I decided that I would run three half-marathons over the week: Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. And I did!! The Saturday run would probably have been a bit more enjoyable, had I not gone to the gym on Friday night to do a pretty tough 1.5h leg session. Can I have an “idiot”!

I know it is not conducive to training gains to run the same distance three times in a short span of time but that’s not what it was about. I just wanted to see if I could do it – and by golly I could! In fact, I didn’t really feel any ill effects at all (except for the slightly heavy legs on the Saturday run).

It has not been all about running though, the weather in London has been beautiful and I have been making the most of it.

Soya yoghurt and grapes in the sunny garden after a 21km run - my reward
Soya yoghurt and grapes in the sunny garden after a 21km run – my reward

 

It has been pretty warm lately. I have to admit I prefer to run in the rain than beating sun in 26C...
It has been pretty warm lately. I have to admit I prefer to run in the rain than beating sun in 26C…

One thought on “Half-Marathon Challenge

Leave a Reply

