First World Problems with a side of Humble Pie

Oh the stresses of modern running… I don’t know that many (in fact, any) runners who routinely do their runs “naked”. So not “sans clothing” but without a gadget of one kind or another. I myself have coveted, bought and then used about twice a heart monitor (I felt it restricted my breathing), really really wanted a Garmin (still not really convinced it is better than a running app on the phone) but my MUST HAVE running accessory is my iPhone (+ Yurbuds and RunMeter).

The only time I run without tracking is when I run to and from the gym. And as much as I quite enjoy the “relaxed” running, I still mourn after those untracked kilometers. And also – I could not do a run much longer than that without music!

When I got my iPhone 5 (yeeeeeaaars ago – this was not the C or the S – just your average “5”) I remember having to wait for the armbands to come out. So I was stuck in this weird limbo of using the new phone but still running with the iPhone 3 (remember those?). And during “3” I was still so new to running I just ordered a “whatever” armband off Amazon. And it was perfect, kept the phone dry and did the job “A-OK”. But with the “5” (keeping up?) I ordered a Belkin armband which I have loved and used to the point it is now in tatters. And I have become a bit of a snob, or maybe just more careful about making sure the armband keeps the phone protected as I run through all kinds of weather.

Sooo.. When I got my iPhone 6 I realised once again that the armbands were not available yet. In fact, as I got my phone the day it came out (delivered to my office, I am not one for standing in queues for ages!) even the protective silicone cover for it wasn’t available for weeks. So I have been living between two phones, trying to remember to keep the spare one charged for run days. Oh folks, life has not been easy!!! (Is this what you would call a “first world problem”?….)

After stalking the Belkin website for weeks and weeks I finally ordered the new armband on Friday – as soon as I saw that it had become available. And after various delivery nightmares got my grubby hands on it today! Yay! Giddy with excitement I have photographed the new armband for you:

Belkin Sport-Fit Armband for iPhone 6
Belkin Sport-Fit Armband for iPhone 6
Backside
Backside
Full frontal
Full frontal
Hang on a minute!! Where is the hole for the microphone port?
Hang on a minute!! Where is the hole for the microphone port?

Incensed by this I googled the Belkin phone number (convinced they had messed up having rushed the design and manufacture of this through), went through the multiple selection options, got given another number for after-sale customer services, dialled the new number, got an automated message about filling in a form on their website and cut off, dialled again for the technical services (anything for a human on the other side of the phone), was put on hold for 10 minutes and…

Realised that I am an idiot. Something you may have known or at least suspected for a while…

The microphone port is at the front of the armband...
The microphone port is at the front of the armband…

In my defence, in the old armband it was at the back…. Thank goodness I didn’t get through to anyone so I just meekly put the phone down and ate my humble pie.

Also…

Glad I didn't go for the iPhone 6+! This thing is massive (and stupid looking..)
Glad I didn’t go for the iPhone 6+! This thing is massive (and stupid looking..)

First run with it tomorrow. I will be the idiot running with a Rembrandt’s “Night Watch” sized phone wrapped around my arm.

3 thoughts on “First World Problems with a side of Humble Pie

Leave a Reply

