Belkin Sport-Fit Armband for iPhone 6 – review

Maybe it is a bit unfair to be writing a review about something that you have only used once but in my defence it was a 22km run so at least indicative of how this armband fares.

Before you say anything, I know it wasn't a very fast run (includes time spent jumping up and down at various road crossings!). Wanted to have the screen on to show the beauty that is RunMeter
Before you say anything, I know it wasn’t a very fast run (includes time spent jumping up and down at various road crossings!). Wanted to have the screen on to show the beauty that is RunMeter

So as per my previous post I finally got my Belkin Sport-Fit armband for my iPhone 6 and tested it yesterday. I was slightly worried as the phone looked massive in the armband and it was a big step up from running with the smaller iPhone 5.  They do have another, slightly smaller Slim-Fit Plus Armband coming out as well and that looks a bit sleaker.

My initial impressions of the armband were good; the phone fit in snugly and the headphone port (after I actually found it) was in the correct position and easy to access. The armband was small enough for me which was a bit of a problem in my previous Belkin armband but I think it should easily accommodate bigger biceps as well.

Excuse the post-run sweaty arm...
Excuse the post-run sweaty arm…
Snug fit on my spaghetti arms
Snug fit on my spaghetti arms

The clear plastic screen protector didn’t interfere with using the phone at all though I don’t think the finger print lock would work with it (I just disable this when I run so I can easily unlock the screen towards the end of the run). The armband was comfortable and once I found the sweet spot I didn’t even notice it even though I had been so worried about feeling like I was running with iPad stuck to my arm.

So all was good and the only time I even paid any attention to the armband was towards the end of the run when I realised how comfortable it was. In my head I was already composing the rave review to post up.

But..

Yep, there is a “but”. After the run, when I took the armband off, I realised that the supposedly “sweat-proof” neoprene fabric was actually soaking wet.

This armband isn't protecting squat!
This armband isn’t protecting squat!

The back of my phone was covered in my sweat (yes, girls sweat too. Or this one does anyway) and disgusting.

MORE SWEAT!!!!
MORE SWEAT!!!!
SWEAT!!!
SWEAT!!!

This made me realise that had it been raining (luckily it was dry), the phone would most likely have been dripping. To be fair, it doesn’t say anywhere that the armband is weather-proof but stupidly I had just assumed this; surely it is part of “protecting the phone when you are exercising”..

Overall it’s a thumbs down from me – comfort would be 10/10 but if I have to worry about my phone getting wet (sweat or rain) then that is unfortunately a deal breaker for me. So I did a bit of research and have ordered an Armpocket Racer. It claims to be water and sweat resistant. It is not specifically made for iPhone 6 but claims to fit it so we will see.. I will keep you posted.

One thought on “Belkin Sport-Fit Armband for iPhone 6 – review

Leave a Reply

