Nike Structure 19

I just know when my runners are getting closer to their end date when my legs start up with all sorts of weird niggles; knees hurting, shins aching, sides of the feet not being supported anymore… Usually takes me a while to pick up on the signs but when I do, I get a bit giddy at the thought of getting to buy a new pair.

My second pair of the trusty Nike Structure 18s took me pretty far – 1223.86km in fact (since 16th of May this year).  And I probably could have gotten a few more miles out of them (they will now become my gym shoes) but I couldn’t resist when I saw the new Structure 19s come out. I just had to have a pair. For the record, I am convinced Nike are definitely improving things as I seem to be getting more and more mileage out of the shoes by every updated pair. Or maybe it’s me improving!…

IMG_6890
Now, I am a “serious runner” and of course the visual side is absolutely of noooo importance to me. At all. None whatsoever… Aren’t they pretty!!! Nike Air Zoom Structure 19 in Black/Hybrid Orange/Vivid Purple/White

They don’t seem too different to the Structure 18s, at least on the outside. This is the blurb on sneakernews.com:

A stability running shoe for everyday training, the latest Structure feels faster, looks great and is built to slow the rate of pronation. The shoe delivers a smooth transition through stability features such as Dynamic Fit technology, which work with the outsole’s lateral crash rail and a triple-density foam Dynamic Support stability system. Together this stabilizes the foot onto the platform and reduces the speed at which the foot starts to roll in. The new contoured last provides added toe spring and combines with Zoom Air cushioning to give the snappy, quick-off-the ground feel. The Nike Air Zoom Structure will be available starting October 1.

And this is what Nike says:

STABLE AND FAST

From the Flymesh upper to the triple-density foam midsole, the Nike Air Zoom Structure 19 Women’s Running Shoe offers plenty of support and the response you need for a smooth, stable ride that feels ultra fast.

RESPONSIVE CUSHIONING

The Nike Zoom Air unit in the forefoot delivers highly responsive, low-profile cushioning to propel your next step forwards—ideal for faster-paced runs.

INCREASED STABILITY

The triple-density Dynamic Support system in the midsole helps slow the rate of pronation with firmer foam along the inside midfoot and wedged foam in the heel, supporting your foot as it transitions through footstrike.

COMFORTABLE SUPPORT

The woven Flymesh upper provides ventilation and support where you need it most, with an added yarn that creates structure without sacrificing breathability. Flat, wide Flywire cables integrate with the laces and wrap your midfoot for enhanced lockdown and a glove-like fit.

MORE DETAILS

  • Full, mesh inner sleeve for breathability and a sock-like fit
  • Internal heel counter for a snug, secure fit
  • Waffle outsole provides durability and multi-surface traction
  • Rubber crash rail on lateral outsole creates soft, smooth transitions
  • Deep flex grooves for more natural movement
  • Weight: 255 grams (women’s size 5.5)

The commonly accepted, smart way to break in runners is to have a few pairs on the go simultaneously so that when you have to replace one pair, you can run the new ones in gradually. Yeah… I rarely (=never) go for the commonly accepted OR smart way of doing anything so what I did (as usual) was to excitedly lace up with the new Nikes and head out for my 26km run. And I have to say that the biggest compliment I can give to a new pair of running shoes is that they didn’t feel new. Not that they felt “run down” either but I had none of the issues you’d expect with new runners still trying to mould themselves to your feet. No new blisters, no slipping – nothing. I still need to fine tune the lacing but that’s all. (I am maybe a bit unusual in that as well since I never undo the laces when I take them off or retie them. I find the sweet spot and am able to slip the shoes on and off – my runners get only literally laced up once.)

The Structure 19s feel incredibly light and yet substantial enough to provide me with the stability and support that I need. Yeah – it’s a big thumbs up from me!  Here are a few shots comparing my first  pair of Structure 18s (the ones in pink, my latest pair is black but I prefer the look of these) and the new Structure 19s.

IMG_6904 IMG_6905 IMG_6903

2 thoughts on “Nike Structure 19

Leave a Reply

