I feel fine! (Honestly….)

I did it, I reclaimed the pavements this morning! A week after my laparoscopy and my head was beginning to be in such a state without running that there was just no way I was able to wait any longer. After my rather dismal performance at the gym on Monday I wasn’t expecting much but I knew I had to try or risk spontaneously combusting with the frustration.

It was (and still is) a goooorgeous morning in London, a bit chilly and a big fat sun on the cloudless sky. A great welcome back to running. I got my kit on, set my phone and my watch and off I went. I took a course towards Regents Park and tried to keep the pace fairly comfortable as I wasn’t sure how I would feel but there was absolutely no pain. My lungs took a while to get going and I do wonder whether that’s still from being intubated but even they warmed up into it. The legs felt a bit tired but also got going. The only issue I suffered from was dizziness, which has been bugging me since the op.

The Boy had made me promise that I would try and be sensible (haha!) and turn back if it felt at all uncomfortable but in the back of my head I did have a target of 10km. It felt doable but yet sensible. I lapped Regents Park once and then lapped it again. The whole time there was a schizophrenic battle going on in my brain between the “more more more” side and the “take it easy” side.

FullSizeRender (3)

 

Just take it easy. This is your first run after the operation and you want to make sure you don’t fuck yourself up.You are still recovering., noone is expecting you to do a 25km run!

 

 

greedy

Err…. I am! Wouldn’t it be great to bang in a 25km run a week after you had a surgeon poking around in your guts??! Surely that earns you some kudos? Makes a great story, anyhow.

 

FullSizeRender (3)

 

You really are a prize twat, you know that? Why are you doing this? So that you can brag about it? Who are you trying to impress? You really need to sit down and think about why it is that you run…

 

 

greedy

 

I am not trying to impress anyone. I am doing this for myself. To prove that I can do it and that I haven’t lost it. I have more or less taken a week off here, you know!! Can you feel my thighs? Like really, FEEL them! All the muscle has withered away.

 

FullSizeRender (3)

 

There is no point disagreeing with you, is there. You just don’t listen. You are too busy focusing on your own BS to actually let some sense penetrate into your Tramadol addled brain. Ok, look – let’s compromise here. Just do the 10km. That’ll be a great start and hopefully you will not do any damage. Remember that you never feel the pain during the run – but always after!

 

greedy

 

10km?! Jesus, I can do 10km in my sleep, running backwards! I feel absolutely fine! I want to do at least 15km. Though you know, once I get to 15, I might want to just push it a bit… My head is swimming a bit though..

 

FullSizeRender (3)

 

I am not going to say anything….. You drive me crazy. I sometimes want to smother you in your sleep. Maybe when we fall because you make us pass out, your part of the brain will hit the tarmac first… Yeah – speed up!

 

 

greedy

 

Uuh, aren’t we tetchy this morning! Annoyed at having to be working out again, huh? (Lazy cow….) So we’re coming to the end of our second lap around Regents Park, shall we head for a third or go somewhere else?

 

FullSizeRender (3)

 

Yes, we are going somewhere else. I am hijacking operations and taking us home. By the time we get there we will be at 12km and that is just going to have to do you today! You have to get to work and also; you have NO idea how you are going to feel after you stop running.

 

greedy

 

You’re a bully. But fine, have it your way. But when we run this weekend, I will be in charge and your ass will be grass.

 

 

IMG_0294
Famous last words

 

 

2 thoughts on “I feel fine! (Honestly….)

  1. I’m just shaking my head here. I’ve followed your blog long enough to know that Sensible should just shut up. I on the other hand can be just as stubborn as you so I’m saying ‘take care’, better to be sensible in the short term so that recovery don’t take longer than it needs. I’ll take my mother hat off now x glad to hear you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

