Running for the HELL of it

Whenever people ask if I run because I am trying for a race my usual response is an exasperated scoff (has taken some practice to perfect) and saying that I am just running for the fun of it. But let’s face it; not all runs are fun. Heck, the way my running has been the past year, very few of them would fall into that category… So it occurred to me (as I was running yesterday, as things often do) that the correct response would be to say that I run for the hell of it. As in “oh well, why not just go out for a run – for the hell of it” but also as in “I run for the (pure and utter) HELL of it”. Even if it is in the hope of catching a little bit of heaven.

Leave a Reply

